Print E-mail
gosLindsey Buckingham to Release New Album -- Gift of Screws -- on Reprise Records September 16, 2008
15/07/2008 - 17:50

Warner Bros. Records will release the fifth solo album from singer, songwriter, and guitarist Lindsey Buckingham, entitled Gift of Screws, on Reprise Records September 16, 2008.

Gift of Screws unites the broad appeal Buckingham showed as the main musical force behind Fleetwood Mac with the restless spirit of experimentalism he´s shown on landmark Mac albums as Rumours and Tusk, and on his own visionary solo albums. It´s the sum of Buckingham´s labors of musical love and dedication, with all the joys and struggles that have come along the way.

"I´d say this album distills several periods of time," Buckingham says. "It has false starts to make albums, songs that go back a number of years that took a while to find a home, and brand-new songs. I wanted to bring it all together in one place. As an artist I´m still, for better or worse, clinging to my idealism and to my sense that there is still much to be said. This album is a culmination of that."

Gift of Screws is a rocking complement to Buckingham´s previous album, 2006´s acoustic guitar-driven Under the Skin, balancing such layered guitar-and-voice contemplations as "Time Precious Time" and "Bel Air Rain" with the seductive rush of the title song and the opener "Great Day." In some ways it´s also an extension of his Fleetwood Mac legacy as Mick Fleetwood and John McVie provide the unmistakable foundation on several songs, including the embracing "Wait for You" and the gloriously mad title song. Showcased throughout are Buckingham´s noted virtuosity as a guitarist, as well as his expressiveness as both a singer and writer.

Largely written and recorded both at his home studio and in solo hotel room sessions during his Under the Skin tour (an electrifying set of concerts documented on the 2008 DVD/CD package Live at the Bass Performance Hall), Gift of Screws was produced by Buckingham, with the exception of two songs  "Wait For You" and the title track  that were co-produced by Rob Cavallo (Green Day, Jewel, Dave Matthews Band).

Last fall, Buckingham embarked on his first U.S. solo tour in nearly 14 years, which continued through the summer. He will tour the U.S. in support of Gift of Screws through September and October. Please visit Buckingham´s website,, for details.

The track-listing for Gift of Screws is as follows:

"Great Day"

"Time Precious Time"

"Did You Miss Me"

"Wait For You"

"Love Runs Deeper"

"Bel Air Rain"

"The Right Place to Fade"

"Gift of Screws"



Reprise Records Publicity
Luke Burland, 615-214-1489

Nikki Herceg, 615-214-1489